group Mookherjea

Shayan Mookherjea

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
B.S. Caltech, 1999
S.M. MIT, 2000
Ph.D. Caltech, 2003

Prof. Mookherjea joined the UCSD faculty in July 2003. His current research focuses on photonic devices, and chip-scale nonlinear and quantum photonics. At MIT, his research contributed to early work on remotely-pumped architectures for optical distribution networks. At Caltech, he received the Charles Wilts thesis prize, awarded for outstanding independent research in Electrical Engineering leading to a PhD. As assistant professor in the Electrical Engineering department at UCSD (2003-2008), he was appointed a Hellman Faculty Fellow (2004-2005) and has received the NSF CAREER award (2007-2012). He was awarded tenure in 2008, and was elected OSA Fellow in 2013.

Service: Associate editor, Optics Express, 2008-2009. Sub-committee Chair: CLEO SC09 (2009), Frontiers in Optics FiO7 (2012, 2013); Committee member: CLEO 2006-2009, "Frontiers in Optics" 2009-2012, Photonics West 2010-2012. Organizer: OSA-NSF Workshop, 2013; OIDA-OSA Workshop, 2016 and 2017; NSF ACQUIRE Workshop 2017.

Michael Ruesing

Michael Ruesing, Post-doctoral researcher

Ph.D. Physics, University of Paderborn (Germany), 2017

Peter Weigel

Peter Weigel, Graduate Student

NDSEG Fellowship Awardee, 2014-17
B.S. Electrical Engineering, Lehigh University, 2013

Hannah Grant

Hannah Grant, Graduate Student

B.S. University of Arizona
Co-advised with Prof. George Papen


Xiaoxi Josh Wang, Graduate Student

NASA Science and Technology Research Fellowship Awardee, 2017 -
B.S. Electrical Engineering, MIT, 2012


Chaoxuan (Ellen) Ma, Graduate Student

M.A.S. University of Toronto, 2016
B. Eng. Zhejiang University, 2014


Jie Zhao, Graduate Student

B.S. China University of Mining and Technology, 2014

Malhar Jere, Graduate Student

B.S. University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, 2017

Forrest Valdez, Graduate Student

B.S. University of California, San Diego, 2017

Victor Gunawan, Graduate Student

Jason Kelley, Undergraduate Student

Graduates and former members

Dr. Marc Savanier

Post-doctoral researcher, 2014-2016
Luxtera Inc., Carlsbad, CA

Dr. Ranjeet Kumar

Ph.D. Electrical and Computer Engineering, UC San Diego, 2016
Intel Labs, Santa Clara, CA

Dr. Junrong Ong

Ph.D. Electrical and Computer Engineering, UC San Diego, 2014
M.S. Electrical and Computer Engineering, UC San Diego, 2011
IHPC, A*STAR, Singapore

Dr. Ryan Aguinaldo

Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2014
Northrup Grumman (Future Technical Leaders Program)

Dr. Michael L. Cooper

M.S. Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2008
Ph.D. Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2010

Dr. Greeshma Gupta

Post-doctoral researcher, 2009-2010.

Dr. Jung S. Park

Ph.D. Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2010
Intel Photonics Technology Lab, Santa Clara.

Dr. Shun-Hui (David) Yang (co-advised)

Ph.D. Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, 2008
TSMC, Taiwan

Hannah R. Grant, Graduate Student

REU Summer Undergraduate Student (CIAN ERC), Summer 2012.
[News Release]

Mark A. Schneider, Graduate Student

M.Eng. Electrical Engineering, UC San Diego, 2013.
General Atomics

Yiran Shen, Graduate Student

M.S. Electical and Computer Engineering, 2011.

John Recchio, Graduate Student

B.S. University of California, San Diego, 2013

Nikhil Mathur

Undergraduate researcher, Honors Research Project, 2016-17.

Craig Ives

Undergraduate researcher (Faculty Mentor Program), 2014-2015.

Hiromichi Yamamoto

Visiting undergraduate student (CIAN ERC), Summer 2013.

Jonathan Trisnadi

Undergraduate Student and Calit-2 Research Scholar, 2011.

Benjamin Ellis

Undergraduate student and Regents Scholar researcher, 2009-2010.

Andrew Oh

Undergraduate student researcher and B.S. Honors Thesis, 2007